Skip to main content
The Independent Critic

Vin Kridakorn, Madeline Lupi, Fernando Yepez, Ingrid Kullberg-Bendz, Ralph Bracco, Michael Gallo, and Edward Phillips
SangJin Ko
30 Mins.

 "Milkshake" tells a Unique, Involving Story 
Add to favorites

Milkshake tells the story of interracial adopted siblings Jack (Vin Kridakorn) and Alice (Madeline Lupi), who are left struggling to make ends meet after the death of their parents. Jack, 18-years-old, is forced to drop out of school to provide for six-year-old Alice. Sadly, the struggles don't stop there as Jack has trouble balancing his sudden role as parent along with trying to hold a job. Before long, he's deemed unfit to continue as Alice's guardian and is forced to deal with the possibility of her being placed up for adoption.

Written and directed by Korean filmmaker SangJin Ko, Milkshake takes a unique, even-keeled approach to an involving story. Oh sure, there are times that Milkshake plays off a bit schmaltzy and one could argue its original music could have used a bit of spark, but both Kridakorn and Lupi give low-key, yet winning performances as the close siblings suddenly thrust into a most difficult situation.

For more information on the film, visit its website linked to in the credits.

© Written by Richard Propes
The Independent Critic

    The 50/50 x 2020 Pledge

    The Independent Critic is proud to support Indy-based Heartland Film by committing to the 50/50 x 2020 Pledge - By the end of the year 2020, The Independent Critic will achieve gender parity in its reviews of both shorts and feature films. Furthermore, The Independent Critic also pledges support for the Ruderman Family Foundation's call for authentic representation of people with disabilities in film and actively commits to leverage its journalistic influence to effect genuine change in the film industry by calling for and actively promoting authentic and inclusive casting and hiring of people with disabilities.

    our twitterour facebook page pintrestlinkdin

    The Independent Critic © 2008 - 2020